On a huge possession for Oklahoma State late in the fourth quarter on Saturday, Spencer Sanders connected with Dillon Stoner on 3rd and five for what appeared to be a critical first-down conversion.
It was ruled a catch on the field.
The chains moved.
Then the officials went to review and decided otherwise.
Here is the play in question. The ruling on the field was a catch, and it was overturned on replay and deemed that he dropped it.
In a word: WHAT?
How do you overturn that? Not only is there not definitive evidence to overturn it, there’s evidence to confirm the call!
Fox’s Dean Blandino even said as much: “Does he have control prior to, during and after the ball touches the ground? I see both hands on the football. The ruling on the field is a catch. If it’s not clear and obvious you can’t change it.”
OSU as a result of the call had to punt the ball away. The Pokes forced overtime, kicking a field goal with under five seconds remaining on the ensuing possession, but the overturned call was a blatantly wrong call that could have — and maybe did -- sway the outcome of the game. With the Pokes falling 41-34, we’ll perhaps never know the alternative universe in which the right call here would’ve held.
The post Wait, the Officials Overturned this Dillon Stoner Catch? appeared first on Pistols Firing.
Read this original article at Pistols Firing Blog.